Boomer, Generation X, Generations, Millennial Generation, Politics

Between Young and Old, a Political Collision – NYTimes.com

Although this recent article in the NY Times describes it as a collision between “Young and Old” I believe the Medicare debate is going to be about [Boom] vs. [X]. X’ers probably don’t expect to get much out of Social Security or Medicare (even though we will probably be the biggest contributors to the programs in our lifetime). Some of the proposals about cuts suggested a cutoff age of 55. If those measures were to pass in a couple years it would pretty much affect only Gen X’ers. No big surprise there, but interesting that the split would be so generational.

I am not sure if the [Mill] would really fight the battle against Boomers in the same way that X’ers would. I have a feeling that the Millennials might see it more of their duty to provide for their elders.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Between Young and Old, a Political Collision – NYTimes.com

  1. For an article that is supposed to be about the collision between older and younger voters, there sure is a lot of paragraphs dedicated to the views of older voters. 27 out of 32 by my count. The Boomers still rule.

    Like

  2. ItsJustBusiness says:

    For some reason, the Boomers think they can collect on their end of the 'take care of me when I'm old' contract without the 'hey, we'll take care of you while you're a child' part of the equation. Kids were such a drag, weren't they, back when everyone was trying to find themselves and tripping out during the the Age of Aquarius? I'm sorry – as a latchkey kid responsible for doing ALL of the housecleaning, cooking and child care for my younger siblings while my divorced single mother worked long shifts (and while my father skipped out on child support payments) in addition to hitting the books in an attempt to escape a life of single-parent induced poverty (I was an A student, by the way), I say that the majority of Baby Boomers can have their bloody retirement when they rewind the clock and let me have a childhood.

    Like

  3. Voice of the Silent Generation says:

    Your commentary makes sense to me. Many Millennials and Gen Xers are having to move in or remain living with their Boomer and Silents parents on into adulthood. It was interesting timing for a housing crisis and resulting economic downturn. The unexplored question is: With all the current unemployment and loss of buying power of the middle class, will the younger generations have enough to help out, especially with such catastrophic aging conditions as Alzheimers?

    Like

Leave a comment